Monday, March 28, 2011

CBR III Review #45: The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking: Book One by Patrick Ness

CBR III Review #45: The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking: Book One by Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting go is the first in a trilogy.  The novel starts off following Todd Hewitt the last child in the town of Prentisstown because many years back a germ was released by an enemy that killed all the women. This germ also made all the men able to hear each others thoughts, known as noise.  They are even able to hear the thoughts of all the animals.  One day Todd stumbles upon an area where the noise goes silent and he is startled.  Todd confides in one of the men that raised him about the strange occurrence and they tell him to run and never come back to Prentisstown.

As Todd runs the town's mayor and many of the inhabitants of Prentisstown try and follow Todd and bring him back.  As Todd runs you learn about the strange world that Todd lives on, which is definitely not earth and you discover along with Todd that many of the stories he was told as he grew up were lies and there is something very sinister and strange about Prenstisstown.

The writing is sometimes had to read because Todd has never been educated so Ness writes how he imagines Todd would write it down, but the book is thrilling especially by the time you get to the end.  Some of the chapters slow down but I promise the end of the novel is worth the pay off.

Product Details

  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Hardcover: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick (September 9, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0763639311
  • ISBN-13: 978-0763639310
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 5.5 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  


No comments:

Post a Comment

© On the Brink of Insanity All rights reserved | Theme Designed by Seo Blogger Templates